Ghostface Killah’s Twelve Reasons to Die isn’t just a promising new album powered by the searing soul production of Adrian Younge. It’s also a comic book about “one vengeful soul hunting the 12 most powerful crime lords in the world,” and the list of guest artists is fiercely impressive: Jim Mahfood (Tank Girl), Paolo Rivera (Daredevil), Ramon Perez (Wolverine & The X-Men), Riley Rossmo (Bedlam), Tim Seeley (Hack/Slash), and Kyle Strahm (Haunt), among others, plus 30 Days of Night’s Christopher Mitten on the cover of Issue 1.

That debut entry in the six-part series hits stands May 29 courtesy of Black Mask Studios, a new publisher co-founded by Epitaph boss and Bad Religion O.G. Brett Gurewitz. The RZA is credited as the book’s producer, and his own Soul Temple Records will release the album on April 16. We’ve heard the excellent tracks “The Rise of the Ghostface Killah” and “The Sure Shot (Parts 1 and 2).” Now we have an opportunity to preview the comic via the trailer above, which promises, “Guns, sex, vinyl [and] revenge,” against a backdrop of grit.

[via spin]


Ghostface Killah – CherChez LaGhost

Ghostface Killah – We Celebrate

Drew Pierce

Related Posts